The Beauty of Snow

I’m looking out at the snow this morning and have joy. I’ve only seen snow a few times, but I get so excited, like a little child, every time I see it. It’s beautiful, mysterious, and brings a smile to my face. In a way, it reminds me of the Lord and my relationship with Him. Life can feel cold, wet, and miserable at times, but just like when the weather is like that and I’m freezing, it’s only in those conditions that the mysterious, yet beautiful snow elegantly drifts down from the sky, creating a majestic scene on the ground.

Many times, when life gets cold, rough, or unsure, I stress. The things I gave control over to the Lord, I try to take back so I can worry and hope to fix it myself. God constantly has to remind me He is in control. It’s in His perfect timing, when the conditions are just right, something beautiful and majestic occurs, like the snow falling to the ground. I’m not saying everything I want or imagine happens, in fact, far from it. However, the Lord reveals part of His perfect plan before us.

I was reminded of a verse this morning, “Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise Him, my salvation and my God,” (Psalm 42:11). Whenever we are down, discouraged, and distressed, our souls can become cast down, but we cannot stay there. Our hope is in the Lord! We trust God with our salvation, but not with the day to day. It boggles my mind, but I’m just as guilty as anyone in that area. We can trust Him and hope in Him. God is always faithful. When we trust Him and hope in Him again, we can praise Him through whatever circumstances life throws at us. In those moments of faith, God transforms us. Bear through the cold and wait for the beauty of the snow.

Leave a comment